A Suburban City Girl in A Small Town

Moment by moment……

Now and Then

on August 28, 2011

The power of memory is a curious thing. I find the older I get, the more my thought process gets sprinkled with thoughts, feelings, images and what not. Tonight, I was rearranging some stuff in the buffet. This is a piece of furniture that has been around longer than I have so I have many memories attached to it. The side cabinets, for example, used to hold delicate glass which shimmered as I held it up to the chandelier in our dining room. Fine linens used only for special occasions lined the drawers. Special serving pieces and silverware were in the drawers. It was all held together with a delicious musky smell that fine, polished, real wood pieces have.

Over the years, things have a way of dissipating. The linen gets stained after so many family dinners. One by one, the glasses break (although we’ve managed to salvage some lovely glass tumblers that were wedding gifts to my mom and dad) and the silver dulls. The buffet itself has been passed around to various members of the family. A few years ago, it found itself back home with us.

So I blessed it tonight. Wine glasses bought by friends and family now fill the cabinets. Special serving pieces and cutlery line the drawers and fine linen handed down to me by my dad’s father-in-law fill the drawer awaiting the next family meal. Then, I polished it and somehow, it seemed to smile at me. So many years of my family history and it’s not quite done with us yet. I treasure this piece of furniture for it is a member of family in its own right. I hope to one day pass it down to my daughters who, in turn, will add to its treasures as to its memories.

In giving those memories back to them, it will not disappoint.

Leave a Reply

