A Suburban City Girl in A Small Town

Moment by moment……

Twenty Reasons Why I Love Autumn

on August 18, 2012

Yes, you heard me. Here in the dog days of summer, I sit in my room with the windows wide open and a soft, cool breeze. The air is filled with the musky scent of burning wood. Autumn is on the way. This is my favorite time of the year – the time when the world starting to organize into a winter sleep. The trees strip off their leaves after a glorious display of color. The days get shorter as evening descends on us earlier and earlier each day. And every once in a while, there is a hint of snow in the air.

So here are the top twenty reasons why I love autumn:

1. The clothes – the boots, scarves and sweaters. I plan on remaking myself this fall and wear things other say people of my size shouldn’t wear. I cannot wait to wear my cute boots.

2, Cooler weather – no more sweating as I sleep. No more putting make up on only to have it slide off before I get into the car. There is nothing more comforting to me than to cuddle under a fluffy blanket!

3. Breathable air – no more being stifled by the heaviness of humidity in the air. Autumn brings that crisp, cool air and I love to open my windows wide and let its frosty chill sweep through the house. I always imagine tiny fairies sweeping out all the nastiness of the heavy summer with their wings.

4. Open windows – curtains blowing, hair whipping, papers flying!

5. Football!!! – Chicago Bears and football…..tight ends and wide receivers and quarterbacks! Oh. my!

6. Warm blankets – Open the trunks and the space bags and let them live and breathe! There’s nothing like a soft, warm, fluffy blanket!

7. Pumpkins – Pumpkin cookies, pumpkin pie, pumpkin pudding, pumpkin coffee, pumpkin tarts, pumpkin carving….and some may even get excited over “punkins”!

8. Hot Apple Cider – warm and spicy and feel free to add a little nip of something extra, if you’d like.

9. Comfort Food – Soups, pastas, stews and chili all served with assorted fresh bread. I love it!

10. Halloween – I love this time of the year. It’s a magical time – time to dress up in something silly or sit together at night and watch scary movies with the lights off. Time for Hocus Pocus, The Others, The Woman in Black, Poltergeist, The Craft, Haunted Mansion and so many other great movies.

11. Sweater – I love all sorts of sweaters in all sizes!

12. Season Premiers – I’m not much of a TV watcher but I am looking forward to NCIS and Person of Interest season premiers.

13. School – I’m one of those weirdos who actually likes to shop for school supplies.

14. Spiced Wine – A lighter wine for the spring and summer is nice but I usually open my fall wine drinking season with a bottle of Witches Brew (warmed). Mulled wine and port then in the evening to help take the chill off on those cold autumn nights. (Because I’m not closing the windows.)

15. Fall colors – Changing leaves thrill me to my fingertips. Long car rides drinking hot coffee just to look at all the oranges, reds, yellows, magentas, purples, deep greens….to me, Fall has the most impressive color palette out of all the seasons.

16. Family – In my family, family gatherings start the beginning of October and we don’t stop until after the first of the year.

17. Coffee – The smell of hot coffee in the air. Nuff said!

18. Birthday – My birthday is in October. I’m so lucky to be born in my favorite season ever!

19. Thanksgiving – The eating holiday of all eating holidays! Turkey, gravy, apple pie, pumpkin pie, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole and my mom’s famous stuffing!

20. And last but not least – Thanksgiving leftovers! Even more delicious than Thanksgiving dinner!!!

So let’s get August and September over and roll on Autumn! I’m so ready!

6 responses to “Twenty Reasons Why I Love Autumn

  1. […] Twenty Reasons Why I Love Autumn (againstthemain.com) […]

    Like

  2. […] Twenty Reasons Why I Love Autumn (againstthemain.com) […]

    Like

  3. cindy knoke says:

    Love all your reasons, especially 9, 15, 16, 19 & 20! Family, food, fall and Thanksgiving! I’m happy! Great blog.

    Like

  4. […] Twenty Reasons Why I Love Autumn. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

