A Suburban City Girl in A Small Town

Moment by moment……

The Last Cookie

on October 18, 2012

Every once in a while, I get introspective. The other day, I was thinking about my maternal grandmother and the short time she lived with my mom and I. 

I grew up between two households, one on the north side of Chicago and one on the south side. I attended St. Ladislaus Catholic School from the time I was in first grade to seventh. After seventh grade, we’d had many issues with the school causing my mom to send me to live with my aunt. So off to the south side I went (again) and, for my eight grade year, I attended and graduated from Our Lady of the Snows Catholic School. I made friends quickly and although I took my entrance exams at Mother Guerin High School, I decided to attend Queen of Peace High School and continue living with my aunt. 

During these formative years, I missed my parents incredibly. Somehow, seeing my mom on the weekends wasn’t enough. During the summer between my freshman and sophomore year, my mom moved out south to a house three doors down from my aunt. The idea of going from being in a house of 7 to a house of 2 excited me. I also was thrilled to be living in a house with just me and my mom. 

Then the news came. The decision was made for my grandmother to move in with us. Now, to be honest, my grandmother was a tough woman. She wasn’t the cookies and pie type of grandma. She smoked heavily until her later years, talked with her elbows and could quiet an entire room with one pursing of her lips. There were no warm fuzzies. So naturally, I was beyond upset. I was angry. Whether or not I showed it, I’ll never know. I know I tried to be fair – well, as fair as a 14 year old girl could be. I think all I wanted was me and my mom and no one else. I felt like I didn’t even know who my mom was. I wanted to know that person. 

Never the less, moving day came and I watched in tears as my grandmother’s things were brought down to our new house. My only consolation was that she was traveling soon to southern Illinois and my mom and I had planned to take her down and then to head to Springfield on the way back. That trip was my “getting to know you” trip with my mom. 

However, my grandmother had to come home and come home she did. I stayed in my room most of the time like teens do. But she had this annoying habit of buying cookies and treats that “were just for her”. I gotta tell ya – that didn’t fly with the selfish teenager in me. She especially used to buy these waferish chocolate cookies – so good! – and they would go in the fridge until she was ready to eat them. This usually came with the reminders to me that these were her cookies and no one elses. 

Ok. So I waited. Until there was one left. And then I ate it! I felt a weird sense of devilish humor in taking her last cookie. I was laughing at her. I was also banking her aging memory so as not to get in trouble. Oh, my poor mother begged me. “Please don’t take the last cookie,” she would plead. But I was stubborn and I was going to show my grandmother just how stubborn. 

Then Klondike came out with their ice cream bars. You know the ones. Cream vanilla ice cream goodness on the inside covered with smooth milk chocolate on the outside. Freeze and serve and it was oh-so-good! Six to a package and all six were off limits to me. Or so she said. Although I shook my head dutifully, I secretly targeted the one I would make mine! 

Then I took up smoking. (Yes, I was a bad teen – I smoked.) And guess what I smoked. The exact same cigarettes as she did. Thus, when she bought a carton – correction – when she demanded I go out and get her a carton, I helped myself to a pack here and there. As smart as she was, I’m sure she knew she was supporting my smoking habit as well as my eating habit. I didn’t care. In my mind, it was a fair price for her to pay for stealing my time with my mother. 

She’s been gone now for many years. Oh we look back and laugh about how I always took her last cookie and we laugh at how mad it made her. Yet, now that I’m older and wiser, I wish I would have been able to communicate more with her. I wish I would have been less instigative. I wish I would have been more patient. I wish…….oh well.

13 responses to “The Last Cookie

  1. Aw, this was a very good post. Taking the time and actual effort to
    create a good article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and never manage to get nearly anything done.

    Like

  2. I needed to thank you for this wonderful read!! I definitely loved every little
    bit of it. I have you book-marked to look at new stuff you post…

    Like

  3. Hey are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get
    started and create my own. Do you require any html coding expertise to make your own blog?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Like

  4. It’s amazing in support of me to have a site, which is valuable
    in favor of my knowledge. thanks admin

    Like

  5. Quality content is the main to invite the viewers to pay a
    quick visit the website, that’s what this site is providing.

    Like

  6. Hi, I believe your site could possibly be having internet browser compatibility issues.
    When I take a look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in I.E., it
    has some overlapping issues. I just wanted to give
    you a quick heads up! Apart from that, fantastic site!

    Like

  7. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I truly enjjoyed reading it,
    you happen to be a great author. I will be sure to
    bookmark your blog and will come back from now on. I want
    to encourage you tto ultimately continue your great work, have a nice morning!

    Like

  8. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be
    really something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.

    I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try
    to get the hang of it!

    Like

  9. Arlie says:

    Hello There. I discovered your weblog using msn. This is a
    very well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to
    read extra of your helpful information. Thanks for the post.
    I’ll certainly comeback.

    Like

  10. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the layout of your website?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or
    2 pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

    Like

  11. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.

    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

    Like

  12. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your website.
    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues? A handful of
    my blog visitors have complained about my blog not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox.
    Do you have any tips to help fix this issue?

    Like

  13. I usually do not comment, but I looked at a few of the responses on this page The Last Cookie | A Suburban City Girl in A Small Town. I actually do have a few questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it only me or does it give the impression like some of the remarks look like they are left by brain dead people?
    😛 And, if you are writing at other social
    sites, I would like to follow you. Could you make a
    list of all of your social networking sites like your Facebook page,
    twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    Like

Leave a Reply

