A Suburban City Girl in A Small Town

Moment by moment……

Shelby’s Poem

on October 26, 2012

A couple of years ago, I took a Creative Writing class. For my final, I had to take the first line of a famous poem and complete it, thus writing a whole new poem. I was severely stressed at the time so I asked my daughter, Shelby, to do this for me. Here’s her poem:

               And I took the road less traveled

                To the opened doors of my life

                I used the tools life had to offer

                I got through whatever life threw at me

                I accepted what came around the bend

                Like something as frightening as a snake or as small as a fly

                The road came to a split and a choice was to be made

                One path led to life; one to death

                I went down the path of life and lived it to its fullest

My kid is wicked smart!

 

3 responses to “Shelby’s Poem

  1. cindy knoke says:

    Dang. No Lie. How old was she? Love that you were stressed and asked her to do your assignment, normally it’s the other way around. Doing this on your part was really wise.

    Like

  2. […] Shelby’s Poem (againstthemain.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

