A Suburban City Girl in A Small Town

Moment by moment……

“I Love You”

on January 11, 2013

Love ? I love love love you.

 

I love you. Three of the simplest yet most powerful words that can come out of your mouth. Yet recently, it seems these three words are tossed around without thought to their meaning and the power lurking within them.

 

“I love you.” Seems simple yet when spoken means a myriad of things. I Corinthians defines what real love is. It says (in the New Living Translation):

 

Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

 

This is what love really is. Love is really a very powerful force and quite necessary to sustain the life of any relationship.

 

Relationships are hard and require a lot of work. In a world where only 50% of all marriages survive, it’s hard for our kids to understand the meaning of real relationship-type love. Teens will tell their boyfriends/girlfriends all the time they love them. But they confuse it greatly with lust or even simple admiration and friendship. They throw it out of their mouths so often without thinking about what they are really saying.

 

I love you.

 

This phrase is not to be said lightly. It is not to be said to just anyone. It is to be said to someone with whom you are willing to go the distance. It is meant to be the glue that holds you to that other person when life isn’t fair and things aren’t easy. It’s the force that allows you to forgive and forget. Love is a heavy-laden responsibility towards someone else, someone who is meant to be in your life for good. This responsibility carries with it the promise of companionship and everlasting friendship but it does not guarantee either of those will come easy. Love says to someone, “I know life will hit us hard and I know there will be some days when you will not want to see my face. There will be days when I won’t want to see your face either nevertheless, I’m committed to this relationship. I’m committed to making this work. I’m committed to all the promises of love I have made and we WILL prevail.”

 

My daughters and I were discussing this recently and here’s the advice I have given them: Never, ever tell a boy you love him unless you are already planning a future together. After all, if you tell every boy you love him, how will your real true love ever know how special those words are when you say them to him?

 

Don’t throw love around. It’s not cheap. It costs a lot but it’s also worth a lot. After all, a Heavenly God loved us so much that He freely gave His Son to die for us. That’s not preaching; that’s just common sense.

 

Leave a Reply

