A Suburban City Girl in A Small Town

Moment by moment……

Happy Valentine’s Day

on February 14, 2013
Anthropomorphic Valentine, circa 1950–1960

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Valentine’s Day. A day for those in love to celebrated and those who aren’t in love to be reminded of how alone they are. 

I’ve always hated this “holiday”. Even when I was married, nothing special was ever done for me. I received no flowers, no cards, no boxes of candy, no kisses beginning with Kay – it was a nothing day for me. A day for me to wish I’d married someone who loved me enough to make it matter. 

Then I got divorced and this day became a day where my singleness was thrown in my face unconsciously by those with significant others. Of course, this was all in my head but it manifested outwardly. For the past six years, I’ve dressed in black on Valentine’s Day and have refused to celebrate even a little. Last year, I had a partner in my crime with my daughter who has grown to hate this day as much as I do. Why wouldn’t she? Her mother has set a wonderful example. 

This year, it’s going to be different. As I’ve settled into being perfectly content in life, being single suits me. I love it! I love my freedom and am in no rush to get into a relationship or even get married again. Yet I realize, I’ve left a trail of negativity behind me concerning a day that really is about love. So this year, I will celebrate. I will celebrate my love for my children, who are always my delightful Valentines. I will celebrate the love I have for my family and how much I’m loved by them! I’ve painted my nails pink with a red heart on them. I’m preparing to party at work and will wear red. I will celebrate Valentine’s Day!!!

But most of all, I will celebrate me because I love me. I love who I am. I love who I’ve become. I love all that I am; a mother, sister, friend, daughter, niece, cousin…..I love it all! And most of all, I love Him who made me in His image!! 
 

One response to “Happy Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

