A Suburban City Girl in A Small Town

Moment by moment……

Money, Money, Money

on February 20, 2013

Can we talk? I’d like a consensus. Which is more important in life: relationships or money? 

Every so often, as I’m sharing an amusing little anecdote about my family, someone invariably feels the need to comment on how often we eat out, or how much I buy for my kids, or how spoiled my children are, the list goes on and on. I find myself stumbling to make excuses.

I’m not going to do that anymore.

See, I know people who are financially secure and they are miserable and lonely people. Is it good to be financially fit? Sure it is! I want more money. I know the value of money and I’m so naïve to think my life would not be less stressful if my bills were paid. I want to give my mother the life she deserves; free from financial stress. Holidays come and go and she and I struggle to understand how we will pay for this or for that and we hope and we pray and somehow, it all works out.

A conversation at lunchtime with a friend revealed this truth: Money is nothing if there’s no one to share it with. Loneliness can still lurk in the shadows of a debt free house. In fact, what makes a house a home? The brick or the people inside? A deb free car can take you places but with no one to share it with, what good is that?

See, I’m not a rich girl but I’ve learned that there are times when I’d rather spend my money buying time. Time with my family over a family meal. Time traveling and making memories that will last long after the money is spent. Time giggling and laughing with my children over ice cream without the interference of media (my girls know when to put their phones away). There are fewer years with my girls ahead of me than behind me. This economy calls for us to pinch pennies but, sometimes, I’d rather spend them to make a memory.

My weekends are often spent going from store to store or cruising the mall window shopping with my girls. Recently, as we were returning home, Shelby took my hand and said, “Mom, I really love days like these.” Money didn’t buy that. Money didn’t buy the morning not too long ago, my Emilie crawled in bed with me and let me hold her. Money doesn’t buy all the memories made each and every time my family gets together. And honestly, not a lot of money is needed for these things anyway!

So I’m admitted it to you all now: I’m not a saver. Never have been. Probably never will be. Because the next chunk of money I get will go towards getting my and my girls to Italy. And after that, Emilie will go to France. And after that, we want to go to Greece. And somewhere  in there, we want to see the USA. And so on and so on and so on. I may not have much to leave them when I leave this earth but they will have enough memories to last them a lifetime!

 

One response to “Money, Money, Money

  1. Rob Russo says:

    Beautifully said, sis! You and your li’l family spend your time as works most lovingly for you all. And if people feel the need to comment on what is not their business, don’t make excuses. Simply say “We’re happy and we love each other.”. End of story. Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

