A Suburban City Girl in A Small Town

Moment by moment……

Surprise! We’re Going to Disney!!

on February 22, 2013

It’s been 5 years already since I said these words to my daughters. My sister, mother and I spent 9 months planning and then the day finally came for us to go to Disney World in Orlando, Florida.

We kept it a secret from my daughters. At the time, they were 9 and 10 years old and had never been there. They asked me over and over to please let us go to Disney. Over and over, I replied, “Someday.”

So, in the middle of a snowstorm here in Grayslake, I left work nervous that our flight would be cancelled. I drove home cautiously and upon arriving, found two girls who’d had a snow day sitting at the kitchen table. Unbeknownst to them, their suitcases had been secretly packed the night before. They looked up at me and complained, “Mom, we’re bored.”

“You are, huh,” I replied. “Well, then I guess we should go to Disney.”

At first, they both looked at me like I’d grown a second head out of my neck. I repeated, “Let’s go to Disney, girls! Do you want to?”

Emilie cocked her head and looked at me quizzically.

“Mom?”

I couldn’t believe it was this hard! Shelby just stared at me in disbelief until I finally shouted, “Surprise!! We’re going to Disney!!”

They jumped up excited and became screaming! I told them to go back their carry-on bags and fetch their suitcases from Grandma’s room. My sister, Liz, showed up shortly after and drove us to the airport. Our flight was delayed by three hours but we finally took off and headed out of the snow for sunny Florida.

Our first day brought another surprise. While walking down Main Street in the Magic Kingdom, I told the girls to look closely at the statue of Walt Disney. They looked and began walking towards it. Then they broke into a run.

“Papa! Kathy!”

My father and step-mother, wanting to share this experience with the girls, surprised them by joining us. I knew they would be there but the girls didn’t. What followed was five of the best days. We ran and played like children. We had the best time ever.

Here is all of us, save my sister, who took the photo. From left to right is Kathy (my step-mom), Shelby, my dad, Emilie, me and my mom.

Here is all of us, save my sister, who took the photo. From left to right is Kathy (my step-mom), Shelby, my dad, Emilie, me and my mom.

Shelby and Emilie

Shelby and Emilie

I can't remember if this was in Morocco or Italy but this is one of my favorite pictures of my girls.

I can’t remember if this was in Morocco or Italy but this is one of my favorite pictures of my girls.

2 responses to “Surprise! We’re Going to Disney!!

  1. Rob Russo says:

    Absolutely beautiful memories! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

