A Suburban City Girl in A Small Town

Moment by moment……

Seriously, Girls?

on March 19, 2013
Teen Mom

Teen Mom (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m just going to say this: I’m really sick and tired of all these stupid, scripted, “reality” shows that do little more than portray women as catty, unintelligent, shrieking, petty, ridiculous drama queens who do nothing more but throw insults at each other. Really, girls? We’ve come so far, fought so hard to be taken seriously…..for this?

The examples are everywhere and somehow, we’ve allowed it in to our homes each time we tune into Jersey Shore, Teen Mom, Pregnant and 16, Dance Moms, Bad Girls Club and countless other “reality” shows showing women wearing far too little clothing and far too much make up.

So tell me, what did we fight for? Why bother working to be taken seriously in the work place, in our homes, in society in general? For what? So the Sookies and Kim Kardashians and Paris Hiltons of the world can still show our little girls how worthless they are without big boobs, clown makeup and mini skirts that barely cover their hind ends?

Forgive me! I thought we women were better than that.

4 responses to “Seriously, Girls?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Yup….with you all the way!

    Like

  2. Samantha says:

    I really can’t bring myself to watch these silly shows. I just see them as a complete and total waste of time. I can’t believe that Jersey Shore had such a big audience! I watched 5 minutes of it one time, and I just didn’t understand the hype. It’s just stupid…It really doesn’t make either sex look particularly good. The women look vapid. The men seem like muscle heads.

    Like

  3. Throw out the TV! I’m serious – I can’t watch any of it – it makes me physically ill! My wife and I haven’t watched TV for close to 20 years and we’re the better for it. It’s purpose it to keep us hypnotized, that’s my opinion.
    And thanks for your blog… keep up the good writing! cheers! Tomas ☼

    Like

Leave a Reply

