A Suburban City Girl in A Small Town

Moment by moment……

Roll Aid

on April 7, 2013
English: Toilet paper roll Português: Um rolo ...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My life is a battle. It’s one long battle and struggle, day in and day out. What I deal with plagues my every waking moment.

It’s the everlasting battle to get the teenagers in my house to actually change a roll of toilet paper.

Now, before I go all negative on this, I want to give my children kudos for their creativity. Most people just put the new roll of toilet paper on top of the empty roll which is still on the holder. Yes, I admit, this is a favorite in my household as well. Then, there’s the putting the new roll on the edge of the sink, thus assuring it being knocked into the toilet while washing hands. And what do we do with the now soaked-through wad of toilet paper in the toilet? We either A.) leave it for Mom to find because after all, we don’t mind her yelling at us a little if we don’t have to actually fix the problem; or B.) we attempt to flush it down thus clogging the toilet and THEN we leave THAT for Mom to fix.

There’s also the leaving of the new roll on the edge of the bathtub. This means, the edge can get wet, and stuck to the side of the bathtub where, once dried, it will become a delicately floating piece of paper wafting gently through the air. Me, being the idiot that I am, will attempt to catch this most likely while going to the bathroom.

Now, my favorite is when they remove the empty roll from the bar of the holder, put that back into the holder and THEN put the new roll on top. Yeah, I don’t get it either.

However, recently, they’ve decided to squish it down flat and wedge it in between the holder (which may or may not have the empty roll on it) and the wall. See, because then when I yank it out and try to reshape it and put it on the holder, it will make a real attractive thumping sound and rip off one. Sheet. At. A. Time.

I’ve talked to them. I’ve begged. I’ve pleaded. I even found a YouTube tutorial showing them how it’s done. (Oh, never fear, there are several to choose from.) Yet still, I find the most daunting and difficult task facing any parent today to how to get their kids to replace the toilet paper roll!

I’m sure there are groups or message boards for parents like me who have children with this deficiency. I’m sure there are even drugs I can give them that will send electronic signals to their brains to aid in alerting them when they are being dysfunctional in the bathroom. It’s like there’s a gene in their DNA that simply doesn’t allow them to change the toilet paper roll!

All I can do at this point is pray. I pray for myself. I pray for my children. And I pray for all parents out there who are living with this. Perhaps, if we band together, we can bring awareness to this ever-growing problem. Perhaps even there will come a day when musical artist all over the world will perform a benefit concert to help with this most serious issue. We’ll call it “Roll Aid”

3 responses to “Roll Aid

  1. Rob Russo says:

    BRILLIANT play on words!! I have to admit that I still catch myself coming up with ways to be amazingly lazy in my home. (When you see the Manse, this will make more sense!) Not that I am calling the girls lazy…but it is interesting to contemplate what we or others might come up with to avoid the most simple and direct solution – just do it right the first time! LOL! 🙂

    Like

  2. Sam says:

    LOL. That’s pretty funny. It kind of reminds me of when I lived at home, my dad never put a new trash bag in after he took out the trash. Everyone else would always take the trash, come back in, and put in a new bag, but my dad just never would. lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

