A Suburban City Girl in A Small Town

Moment by moment……

Happy Birthday, Mommy!

on May 10, 2013

Last month, I posted a letter my father wrote to me when I was fourteen years old. In the same vein, here is my mother’s letter to me. My mother is the most amazing woman I know and a true mom in every sense of the word. She’s always done anything and everything for her children. No sin too great she would not forgive. No deed too small she would not praise it to the hills. Time and time again, we’ve left to live our lives only to return home, broken-hearted with our children in tow and truck loads of emotional baggage. She’d help us unpack all our emotions and issues, give us the space to deal with our pain, hold us while we cried and did whatever it took to get us up on our feet again. She’s simply the truest meaning of beauty there is.

Here is her letter to me written on February 24, 1982.

Dear Vikki: 

This is a letter from me to you just to say “I love you”. I love you for all the years of joy and happiness and love you have brought to Daddy, me and the rest of the family. 

Just when we least expect it, you do something to surprise us. Like the many times I come home and find that you have not only cleaned the house but prepared dinner and then serve it to me on a tray. It shows your kindness and love to me. The way you care about our problems and worries and cares. 

Your beautiful, smiling face and your contagious giggle make us all happy. 

You have grown up so fast and soon will be starting high school What a lucky school it is too; to be getting a girl who will have enthusiasm for school projects and will be definite asset. I am sure they will be as proud of you as we have always been. 

Honey, there is so much I feel in my heart and I sit here and don’t know  how to put it into words and especially on paper. What I am trying to say is that you are a thoughtful, considerate young lady. You care about others and try to help others in any little way you can. That is also being very grown up in many ways. 

You are about to enter into some of the happiest days of your life. I want to wish you success, joy and all the love a mother’s heart can hold. 

As I started this letter, I will close it. I love you, honey. 

Mom. 

I think this is a wonderful thing for any parent to do. I have these letters and have had them for 30 years now. In the last 30 years, I have grown up, married, had babies, lost one baby, got divorced and have had to hold my own children together through some very painful times in their young lives. People say I’m a good mom.

What else could I be? My own mother is so very excellent!

Me and my mommy!

2 responses to “Happy Birthday, Mommy!

  1. Anonymous says:

    That was beautiful, so now if you’ll excuse me, I need to write two letters!

    Like

  2. Rob Russo says:

    What another lovely tribute to a parent…and from one. I think it’s great that they wrote these letters for you, and I think it’s wonderful that you have kept them all this time. And yes….you yourself are a great parent and friend to your daughters. So see? Look how much Love and Light flows around that home? How could you all not be sustained so well in that energy? I love you, sis! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

