A Suburban City Girl in A Small Town

Moment by moment……

That Time of Year

on September 23, 2013

English: The pumpkin patch fills up during the...

 

It’s no secret to anyone who knows me that Fall is my favorite time of the year. I love it! I love the colors, the crisp chill in the air, the first frost, the clothes, football and the food.

 

With Fall comes hibernation. Thick, hearty stews with delicious breads, starchy heart-warming pastas, pumpkin spice lattes…..PUMPKIN ANYTHING….all call out to me. They tell me to consume them and then go relax on the couch wrapped in a warm blanket with a hauntingly beautiful book. These are all things I love to partake in and this season, and the season that follows, are my time of reflection and just….slowing down from a busy summer.

 

Except this is also the busiest time of the year. Tons of birthdays and my favorite holidays litter the days of my calendar. Both my babies turn one year older. I turn one year older. Thanksgiving. Christmas. Halloween.

 

How can a girl possibly get fit during this time!!!!!

 

Honestly, I’ve made a conscious decision here. I’m half Italian, half Irish. One side likes to eat and the other side likes to drink. I have a huge family and we celebrate everything…..A LOT….with A LOT of food!!! (Did I say A LOT because I’m not even joking here.)

 

How should I combat this? Easy. I’m going to make a commitment to stay true to two things: portion control and exercise. Because there just really isn’t any way for me NOT to indulge. It’s just not happening. So the only way to combat any extra calories is by cutting my portions down to size and being consistent in my workouts.

 

Another thing I’ve done is I’ve weaned myself off the anxiety medication I once was on. One major side effect  of the medication was extreme weight gain and well….HELLO!!!! That’s what’s happened! So now, I’m looking to control that part of myself with healthy food and, again, using exercise as a means of bringing my emotions within control.

 

It seems lately like things are out of control and that’s not where I want to be. Life itself, these past few weeks, had been particularly stressful. So I’m praying implementing these things will help bring about a change for the better and the ability to be in control of my life again.

 

I feel like I’ve been on the weight loss journey my whole life and honestly, the road never ever seems to end. However, I think I’ve decided to change the scenery a little and make it more interesting.

 

Who is with me?

 

2 responses to “That Time of Year

  1. Rob Russo says:

    What will the scenery change to? You know this is my favorite time of year as well….has been for a very long time. And for me and many of my folk, it is a high holiday time as well. And yes….pumpkin ANYTHING! LOL!

    A thought…control is an interesting concept. And it’s one that I think trips us up more often than not. Control issues cause huge amounts of stress and anxiety, and we as a society seem to feed on a lot of that. What I have begun to do more is to just know that everything is happening as it is meant, that I indeed do not have as much control as I thought I did, and that releasing so much sense of control has really lightened me up tremendously! I’m lighter, happier, and it shows in my energy. I feel it, and so do those around me. It feels really nice.

    So do what feels good to you. Think what feels good to think. Say what feels good to say. Allow that good feeling. It’s a lot easier than resisting what doesn’t. I hope this makes a little sense….now, or at some point.

    Love you!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

