A Suburban City Girl in A Small Town

Moment by moment……

New Year, New Me

on February 9, 2014

I haven’t blogged in a while. Honestly, real life is super busy and I’ve been a little uninspired of late.

This year is the year of the new me. On my twitter, I’ve hash-tagged #newyearnewme and here’s the deal. I’m no longer focusing on being “thin”. Let’s face it. I’m 45, short and stocky and will never be even a size 10 without starving myself. However, the idea of “a body in motion stays in motion” has been nagging at me and I’ve made the commitment to change my life in two areas:
1. I’m going to make better food choices and,
2. I’m going to move more.

So far, so good and I’ve even dropped a total of 14 pounds. I’ve a new dog that’s very active and he keeps me active with walks in the morning and walks at night and he loves it when I run so that’s helping me, too. See, my goal of “gotta lose weight” has changed into “gotta be more active”. A few websites I may have blogged about before are helping me on this journey. The first one is http://www.sparkpeople.com which is a wonderful tracking tool website. Its sister site, http://www.sparkrecipes.com is filled with loads of great food ideas. A friend at work introduced me to http://www.dailychallenge.com. This website actually gives you a task to do each day that speaks to your mental, emotional and/or physical health. It’s quite fun as you never know what you’ll be asked to do next.

Needless to say, this has sparked a bit of a health focus in my home. Last night, my 15-year-old and I made this pact: I would give up my weekly Starbucks treat and put the money away for new Nike trainers and she will give up her cookie and soda each day and put money away towards her new bathing suit for this summer. (Those can be expensive!!!)

A close friend at work said this to me and it rings so true….”Ugh the media is terrible. I actually drafted a Facebook rant about some of the posts I’ve been seeing about body image. I’ve been frustrated with some of the meme’s I’ve been seeing that have the Dove ad girls above the Victoria Secret’s model saying how thin girls are gross. I don’t understand this women ripping on women. Thick can be beautiful. Thin can be beautiful. In the middle can be beautiful. Why don’t we start focusing on being healthy, and feeling good about ourselves instead of ripping down other people (skinny, fat, thin, thick, whatever).”

That pretty much sums it up, don’t you think?

2 responses to “New Year, New Me

  1. Sam says:

    Sounds like you have a good mentality. It’s great that your daughters are getting involved too! It’s been awhile – I hope to see more from you on my blog roll 🙂

    Like

  2. What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It positively helpful and itt has aided me out loads.

    I’mhoping to give a contribution & help different users like its aided me.

    Good job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

